Tbnewswatch Local News
2014-08-17 at 5:34PM

Foulds, Waddington add names to Current River race

By Matt Vis, tbnewswatch.com

THUNDER BAY -- Andrew Foulds will be seeking his third term at city hall, as he becomes the latest incumbent to announce his re-election bid.

The Current River ward councillor announced on Sunday he plans to file his registration papers Monday afternoon, looking to maintain the seat he has held since 2006.

Foulds most recently ran in the spring provincial election as the NDP candidate for Thunder Bay-Superior North, finishing second to Liberal Michael Gravelle after receiving nearly 30 per cent of the vote.

His opposition will include his predecessor.

Dick Waddington, who served as the Current River ward councillor from 1980 until 2000 before regaining the seat from 2003 to 2006, has filed his paperwork to once again run in the ward.

Waddington was defeated by Foulds in the 2006 election, who has held that position ever since.

Foulds and Waddington join Andy Wolff and Claudio Monteleone as declared candidates vying to represent Current River.

Meanwhile, the Neebing race has added two contenders challenging Coun. Linda Rydholm.

Both Austin Haner and Geoff Abthorpe have registered in the ward, each looking to wrestle away the seat that Rydholm has held since being elected in 2003. 

The bid for the five at-large seats is now up to 15 candidates, with Terri-Lynne Carter being the latest to throw her hat in the ring earlier this week.

With Foulds entering the race, that leaves Northwood Coun. Mark Bentz, McIntyre Coun. Trevor Giertuga and at-large Coun. Rebecca Johnson as the three lone incumbents yet to declare their intentions. At-large Coun. Ken Boshcoff is challenging for the mayor's chair.

Click here to report a typo or error


Note: Comments that appear on the site are not necessarily the opinion of tbnewswatch.com.