Skyscraper Ad

Signature - McCullough

Signature Ad

Sign -Driving Miss Daisy

Web Ad

Big Box - Mountain Bingo

Click here to see more

Sports Teams

Have the increased event centre costs prompted you to change your mind supporting the project?

Total Votes: 389
View Results Past Polls

User Submitted Photo Gallery
Submit Your Own Photos
2014-03-11 at 10:27

Stars start playoffs on Saturday

By Leith Dunick,
St. Joseph FoundationGrand A Day Draw tickets are now on sale. $1,000 daily draws in November. Grand Prize draw is for $10,000. License #M738339Click Here

The Thunder Bay North Stars will begin their bid for the Superior International?Junior Hockey League title at home on Saturday.

The Stars, who won two of three on the road against Dryden to finish off the season, wound up second in the standings and will take on top-ranked Fort Frances in a one-versus-two, two-game total-goal showdown.

The winner of the series earns the right to choose their semifinal opponent.

Game 1 is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. at Fort William Gardens.

Game 2 goes next Friday at Ice For Kids Arena in Fort Frances.

Should the two teams be tied after the second game, it will be solved in either overtime or a shootout.

In the quarterfinal round, the No. 3 Minnesota Iron Rangers will take on No. 6 Wisconsin, while No. 4 English River will play Dryden in best-of-seven affairs.

In other SIJHL, league officials announced its award finalists last week.

Thunder?Bay’s Daniel Delpaggio is up for MVP and rookie of the year, while North Stars netminder Eric Mann is in the hunt for top goaltender.

Teammate Trevor Hynnes is one of three in the hunt for best defensive forward, while Matthias Gardiman is a finalist for the league’s most sportsmanlike award.

North Stars forward Zach Grzelewski is being considered for the most improved player trophy, while coach Jeremy Adduono is battling for coach-of-the-year honours.

Here's a complete list of the SIJHL award nominees: 

Pizza Hut Player of the Year/Most Valuable Player       
John Morales, (F) English River Miners
Lucas Debenedet, (F) Fort Frances Lakers
Daniel Del Paggio, (F) Thunder Bay North Stars

CCM Rookie of the Year
Lucas Debenedet, (F) Fort Frances Lakers
Jason Reynolds, (F) Minnesota Iron Rangers
Daniel Del Paggio, (F) Thunder Bay North Stars

Gongshow Gear Best Defenceman                   
Cody Wickstrom, Fort Frances Lakers
Austin Frank, Minnesota Iron Rangers
Tim Cavar, Thunder Bay North Stars

Top Goaltender   
Jordan Cartney, Fort Frances Lakers
Alex Reichle, Minnesota Iron Rangers
Eric Mann, Thunder Bay North Stars

Best Defensive Forward
Lyndon Lipinski, Fort Frances Lakers
Jonathon Losurdo, Minnesota Iron Rangers
Trevor Hynnes, Thunder Bay North Stars                   

Most Sportsmanlike Player
Jonathon Losurdo, (F) Minnesota Iron Rangers
Matthias Gardiman, (F) Thunder Bay North Stars
Sawyer Jacobson, (D) Wisconsin Wilderness
Most Improved Player                   
Chris Sitco, (F) Dryden Ice Dogs
Mason Meyer, (F) Fort Frances Lakers
Zach Grzelewski, (F) Thunder Bay North Stars

Coach of the Year
Wayne Strachan, Fort Frances Lakers
Kevin Kahoot, English River Miners
Jeremy Adduono, Thunder Bay North Stars

Click here to report a typo or error

Banner/Vector Construction


We've improved our comment system.
Comments for this story are semi-moderated. Read our comment guideline.

Add a new comment.
You must log in to add comments.
Create a new account
Forgot password?
Log In