Skip to content

Tbaytel Major League of Curling kicks off its 45th season

This season's Tbaytel Major League of Curling kicked off Tuesday night at Kakabeka Falls Curling Club.


THUNDER BAY -- The Tbaytel Major League of Curling kicks off its 45th season at a new venue with four games Tuesday 6:30 pm at the Kakabeka Falls Curling Club.

It is one of the first competitive leagues to resume play in the city since Covid. The league will adhere to safety protocols put in place by Curling Canada and local curling clubs.

The opening draw will feature the defending league champions, the Dylan Johnston rink matched against the experienced Gary Weiss foursome. Another key match in the season opener has Krista McCarville taking on Mike Delisets in a battle of reigning Northern Ontario champions. McCarville is current provincial Scotties champion and Desilets, the Northern Ontario Seniors champs.

The other games have veteran Frank Morissette playing the young Dallas Burgess rink while Trevor Bonot faces Ben Mikkelsen.

This year marks the first year that the local competitive curling league will play at the rural club out in Oliver Paipoogne. The league with 14 teams this year will also play half their games at Port Arthur Curling Club which has been the home club for the local loop for over 20 years.

The first draw at PACC will run the Wednesday after Thanksgiving with six games. All Tbaytel Major League games will be played at 6:30 p.m. this season.

Please watch for a full league schedule and team rosters..


push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks