Skip to content

Thunder Bay Jail staff honoured for actions during riot

Prisoners took a correctional officer hostage during the riot
Supplied photo

THUNDER BAY -- A dozen members of the Thunder Bay Jail staff have received provincial awards for bravery as a result of their actions during a riot at the jail almost two years ago.

On December 7, 2015, close to 70 inmates took control of the jail's upper floor, and held one correctional officer hostage.

The officer, along with at least three prisoners, required hospitalization for treatment of unspecified injuries.

In Toronto on Wednesday, the Ministry of Community Safety and Corrections presented the Minister's Award for Bravery to the following correctional officers and members of the Thunder Bay Institutional Crisis Intervention Teams:

  •  Shawn Bradshaw, Mike Bilokryli, Dan Boychuk, Shane Fillier, Scott Giertuga, Warren Giertuga, Bill Hayes, Raffaeli Tassone, Scott Wark and Provincial Bailiff Chris Smagac

Special Recognition Awards were also presented to Sergeant Neil MacDonald and correctional officer Joseph Lozer, who led the negotiations with the inmates.

The riot lasted nearly 20 hours.

Eight inmates were subsequently charged with criminal offences. 






push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks