Skip to content
-10.2 °Cforecast >
Cloudy

Thunderwolves hockey games to start earlier in 2015-2016 season

THUNDER BAY – Fans will have to get to the Fort William Gardens a little earlier this season to catch the opening puck drop of Lakehead Thunderwolves hockey games.
0
371799_79110011

THUNDER BAY – Fans will have to get to the Fort William Gardens a little earlier this season to catch the opening puck drop of Lakehead Thunderwolves hockey games.

The team released their schedule on Monday, announcing the majority of their home dates during the 2015-2016 season will be scheduled for 7 p.m., which is 30 minutes earlier than the typical standard start for games during the program’s previous 14 seasons.

The change comes after multiple years of decreasing attendance, culminating this season with the team drawing 1,700 fans for their first-round playoff affair against the archrival Western Mustangs.

The team will play their first contests on Sept. 25-26 when they host the Manitoba Bisons for a non-conference series.

Lakehead University will celebrate its 50th anniversary during homecoming weekend on Oct. 2-3, which will include honouring the 2006-2006 OUA Queen’s Cup champion squad before their contests with the Laurentian Voyageurs, including a Saturday afternoon tilt.

The Thunderwolves will host the team that ousted them from the playoffs, the defending Queen’s Cup champion Guelph Gryphons, for their annual Crime Stoppers Christmas Challenge non-conference series.

Season tickets will go on sale in August.

The full schedule is listed below:

Fri, Sep 25 7:00 VS MANITOBA BISONS
Sat, Sep 26 7:00 VS MANITOBA BISONS

 

Fri, Oct 2 7:00 VS LAURENTIAN VOYAGEURS
Sat, Oct 3 2:00 VS LAURENTIAN VOYAGEURS
Sun, Oct 4 6:00 at Minnesota-Duluth Bulldogs

 

Fri, Oct 16 7:00 at UQTR Patriotes
Sat, Oct 17 4:00 at UQTR Patriotes

 

Fri, Oct 23 7:00 VS QUEEN'S GOLDEN GAELS
Sat, Oct 24 7:00 VS QUEEN'S GOLDEN GAELS

 

Fri, Oct 30 7:00 at McGill Redmen
Sat, Oct 31 5:00 at McGill Redmen

 

Fri, Nov 6 7:00 VS NIPISSING LAKERS
Sat, Nov 7 7:00 VS NIPISSING LAKERS

 

Thu, Nov 12 7:00 at Western Ontario Mustangs
Fri, Nov 13 7:00 at Western Ontario Mustangs

 

Fri, Nov 20 7:30 at Windsor Lancers
Sat, Nov 21 7:30 at Windsor Lancers

 

Fri, Nov 27 7:00 VS TORONTO VARSITY BLUES
Sat, Nov 28 7:00 VS TORONTO VARSITY BLUES

 

Fri, Dec 4 7:15 at Brock Badgers
Sat, Dec 5 7:00 at York Lions

 

Tue, Dec 29 7:00 VS GUELPH GRYPHONS
Wed, Dec 30 7:00 VS GUELPH GRYPHONS

 

Fri, Jan 8 7:00 VS CARLETON RAVENS
Sat, Jan 9 7:00 VS CARLETON RAVENS

 

Fri, Jan 15 7:00 VS RYERSON RAMS
Sat, Jan 16 7:00 VS RYERSON RAMS

 

Fri, Jan 22 7:15 at Brock Badgers
Sat, Jan 23 7:00 at York Lions

 

Fri, Jan 29 7:00 VS WATERLOO WARRIORS
Sat, Jan 30 7:00 VS WATERLOO WARRIORS

 

Fri, Feb 5 7:30 at Guelph Gryphons
Sat, Feb 6 7:30 at Guelph Gryphons

 

Fri, Feb 12 7:00 VS LAURIER GOLDEN HAWKS
Sat, Feb 13 7:00 VS LAURIER GOLDEN HAWKS