Skip to content

National Development Centre sets 2019-20 roster

Locals dominate 10-skier roster.

THUNDER BAY – The National Development Centre-Thunder Bay Nordic team has a definite regional flavour for the 2019-20 season.

Team officials on Friday announced its 10-skier roster, four of whom hail from Thunder Bay, with a sixth calling Kenora home.

Locals Angus Foster, Heidi Stewart, Kai Meekis and Fergus Foster are joined by Kenora’s Lisle Compton, Parry Sound’s Shaylynn Loewen and Graham Ritchie, Oxenden’s Julian Smith, Gatineau’s John Lindfors and Ottaw3a’s Pierre Grall-Johnson.

The team begins its summer season in Canmore, Alta. in July, followed by more training at Quebec’s Mount Tremblant in August, before returning home in September to get ready for snow to fall.

The ultimate goal is for top 30 finishes at the World Championships, behind held in Canada next March.


Leith Dunick

About the Author: Leith Dunick

A proud Nova Scotian who has called Thunder Bay home since 2002, Leith has been the editor of Thunder Bay Source for 17 years and has served a similar role with since 2009. Twitter: @LeithDunick
Read more